Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have an Oscar that is about 5-6" long and I need to rehome him, as he outgrew his tank long ago. My question is, what is a reasonable rehoming fee? I'm not very experienced when it comes to rehoming fish, and dont want to just give him away as I'm afraid he wouldn't get a good home that way, so any advice is welcome. Thanks!!

·
Super Moderator
7,299 Posts
Look for a local fish forum in your area. Most cities have fish clubs and those fish clubs have their own forum. Offer the fish for free through them, or ask for a small fee, mayb $5 or $10 for him.

Not sure why you're posting a smiley face about him outgrowing his tank long ago. That's not something to smile about, that's actually rather irresponsible fish ownership in my opinion. You should never buy a fish you can't house as an adult. But I am glad that you are doing the responsible thing now and finding him a home that can look after him properly.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I would put a nominal price on him and ask for proof of his permanant home, aftrall you dont want him going to another small tank :)

Not sure why you're posting a smiley face about him outgrowing his tank long ago. That's not something to smile about, that's actually rather irresponsible fish ownership in my opinion. You should never buy a fish you can't house as an adult. But I am glad that you are doing the responsible thing now and finding him a home that can look after him properly.
Thats not necessarily irresponsible. I often buy fish i am not wanting to permanantly house. I but them small grow them to a decent size and resell or trade them in. It makes me money to keep all my tanks. Nothing worng with it at all. Its when you buy the fish and fully intend to keep it in too smaller a tank that is irresponsible

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #5