Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
I'm new to this raw food thing, and have only been doing it for a few months now (I've kind of lost track of when I started). Basically I switched because I was spending at least 150$ per month feeding kibble and my two little dogs didn't even want to eat it. I read about raw food and saw it as a cheaper way to feed my dogs a better quality diet.
I have three dogs in total. My jack russell and chihuahua do extremely well on raw food. I'd always struggled to keep weight on the chihuahua and weight off of the JR, raw food seems to have worked this out for me. The rott/shepherd puppy I have was doing great but now he is blowing coat like crazy!
I'm used to shedding, but I am vacuuming up a full bag of hair every day. His skin isn't dry, he doesn't have dandruff and somehow he isn't balding anywhere. He has all of his energy, his appetite and normal behaviour. Just the shedding is INSANE!
Since I am new to this raw diet thing I can't help but feel they're related. Does anyone else have a similar experience they could share or any suggestions?
My guys mostly eat chicken and the odd veggies, cheese and yogurt that I have lying around.

·
Registered
4,248 Posts
Hey,
I'm new to this raw food thing, and have only been doing it for a few months now (I've kind of lost track of when I started). Basically I switched because I was spending at least 150$ per month feeding kibble and my two little dogs didn't even want to eat it. I read about raw food and saw it as a cheaper way to feed my dogs a better quality diet.
I have three dogs in total. My jack russell and chihuahua do extremely well on raw food. I'd always struggled to keep weight on the chihuahua and weight off of the JR, raw food seems to have worked this out for me. The rott/shepherd puppy I have was doing great but now he is blowing coat like crazy!