Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

Raw Feeding((plz only post if exp in this)) -- Novices need to know HOW

3413 Views 41 Replies 12 Participants Last post by  dustinshaw98
Okay. I was swayed to Raw Fed Diet. ((thanks again marsha, :wink:))

Marsha told me of a website, i went, and loved what i read, and **miracle of miracles** managed to convience one of my best friends(who owns an akita, older 12yrs) into trying raw with her 'n his mother's 2 shitzu's... Our problem...

My puppy is 4months, his is 12yrs, and he's responsible for 2 tiny shitzu's... We are going to start with chicken as its easier to access and cheaper by far for us.

Our delimna. How do we go about it? how much? what should all be in it for the first time meal in respect of each of our dogs(the shitzu's are 1yr 'n 3yrs).

We are complete novice and want to find all this out before attempting the change over. ((gradual change over that is, lol))

Basically... we need to know exactly what to feed and how much to feed.
1 - 5 of 42 Posts
I don't feed raw (and I won't be even thinking about it for another year at least) but from my understanding most people spend several months researching how to properly do it and what all goes into feeding raw. Sibe helped me out tons and gave me great advice and tips and a ton to think about when I started researching it MONTHS ago after speaking with her about it.

No one here can give you a set amount of how much to feed your dog when doing raw. I do know that you're supposed to feed 2-3% (roughly) of the dogs ideal body weight per day.
You should also be feeding 10% whole raw bones 10% whole raw organs and 80% skeletal muscle meats. Which you already know because you read the websites lol - I was just kind of repeating.