Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi im new here,i have a 4 month old rottweiler x a/bulldog,she weighs around the 40lb mark and ive just started feeding raw to her over the last few days.
ive been researching about amounts to feed

im feeding a chicken quarter with bone for breakfast,
for lunch a handful of sliced up lambs heart and half a handful of lambs liver and then finally for dinner another chicken quarter.

i will gradually introduce different raw meats as time goes on

does this sound ok for her weight?
please let me know if i can improve on this as im new to this and want her to be as healthy as possible
many thanks
here a little pic of her at 3 and half months

2012-11-03 16.47.57.jpg

·
Registered
13 Posts
Its not always good for dogs because it brings in bacteria that the dogs arent use to and it can make them sick in some cases not always and it can give them the runs.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hi thanks for the reply,shes not been sick or anything,her poop is normal,not runny or hard.
she was eating james well beloved kibble but didnt seem to want to eat much of this,almost turning her nose up at it.

·
Registered
1,075 Posts
Normally, when starting out feeding raw, you want to stick to one protein source at a time to give the tummy time to adjust. Puppies do tend to adjust more quickly though :) You just need to make sure you have the general 80/10/10 ratio down (meat/bones/organs). I wouldn't worry too much about the organ meat just now.. it can come afterwards. You will want to try and feed as many different proteins as you can once she has adjusted. I always watch the poops as a guideline for the feeding - too runny, add a bit more boney meals. Too hard/crumbling - need more meaty meals.

·
Registered
6,227 Posts