Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the newest addition to our family... meet Rocket!!

rocket jumping.jpg

rocket1.jpg

rocket2.jpg

Questions:
1. According to her previous owner, Beagles are just about impossible to housetrain. Is this true?

2. This little dog poops... A LOT! I'm not a professional but my guess would be its from a poor diet... not just because its "a Beagle thing." Am I correct in this assumption?

3. Her previous owner said it is also impossible to teach a recall? But she is a hound dog, surely she has to have some kind of recall right?

4. She also makes "grunting noises" (kind of like a baby pig) what does that mean?

·
Registered
15 Posts
OMG she is beautiful. I have a love for beagles no matter how much my silly beagle boy annoys me sometimes.

They're not impossible to housetrain. Just takes consistency and work. The are good references on here how to teach housetraining. I never really had to use it much, my boys were pretty good at it.

My beagle boy has some food sensitivities. Mostly he can get bouts of diarrhea or excessive scratching and licking of his paws. I would have a vet check done on her if her pooping is excessive, the vet would know better what could be causing it.

Impossible, maybe not but you would have to have a strong will to teach a hound recall. More than I have. Mine will never have 100% recall and I will never trust him off leash unless he is fenced in. Even then I won't leave him out there alone since he will find a way out of the fence if he smells something interesting enough.

The grunting could be reverse sneezing wich my beagle gets during allergy season. It's not harmful, but a vet check may provide some options to relieve it if it is a lot.

·
Registered
20,765 Posts