Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am new to this so forgive me if this is in the wrong spot. I have been working on crate training my 9 1/2 week old soft coated wheaton terrier. She cried relentlessly throught the night for 5 nights straight, then we moved her to our bedroom and she is fine except to get up twice during the night to pee. My problem is when i leave her for short periods during the day. She absolutely hates being left. She cries and howls and even at times pees her crate.

The crate is sectioned off to give her just enough room turn around and sleep. There was a comfortable memory foam mat in there for her, but this is absolutely the last one i am going to buy. I would wash the outside of the mat and spray the foam with odor killing spray i got from petco the first few times, then thought the smell of her pee might be making her want to go in there so i would throw it out and buy a new one.

I got her a week and half ago and the last few days I have been taking her out then putting her in crate for 10 minutes while I leave, then 20 minutes, then 30 mintues. She would cry and howl the entire time and at the 30 miunte mark would pee her crate. I am not sure how to make her comfortable with being in her crate while i leave.

I head back to work next week and have a a dog walker coming 3 times during the day. I leave at 7:30 and get home at 5:30. The dog walker comes at 9am for 20 mintutes, 12pm for 30 minutes and at 3:00 for 20 minutes.

I am desperately trying to get her used to being in her crate ALONE for some short periods of time but she absolutely hates it.

Is there any advice?

·
Registered
6,103 Posts
I hope you did your research on a SCWT. They aer a pure bundle of adrenaline!!!! I wouldn't put the puppy into the crate until it was thoroughly tired out from a good long walk or romping play session. Honestly, I've never known a SCWT that was quiet.