Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I got Abbey on July 2nd, she is a 3 month old lab mix and the vet said I could slowly begin to incorporate home made fresh food into her diet by adding a table spoon at first and then gradually up the quantity of fresh food until she is finally on all home made meals instead of kibble. I was wondering if:

1: Do I need to be consistent with her new home made meals forever, or can I make several different recipes so she gets to have something new whenever I feel like buying her something else to eat. I am a culinary student and love this kind of stuff.

2: Should I be concerned with what I am now beginning to feed her? here is the recipe.

brown rice+diced carrots+diced sweet potato+peas+green lentils all mixed together for a nice rice and veggie salad (all steamed/cooked). Then I add cooked mince turkey for protein.

rice/veggie mixture = 55%
turkey = 45%

I am on a mission to find the perfect recipes for my dog and have her be as healthy as I can possibly have her. I was doing some research and I'm seeing a lot of ingredients that I am not sure if I she is getting from my food. (calcium, cod liver oil, other fats good for dogs, bone meal, etc.)

Can anyone help me with this? Abbey would really love to have healthy meals.

I love her so much.

:)

ps: I would love any recipe you feed your doggies.

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
That is way to much veggies.

Dogs need meat, organ and bone not veggies.

·
Registered
9,391 Posts
I am not a nutrition expert, so I can't suggest the best recipe. But I might help with a little biology that will help your decision for food variety: