Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone!!

I had a very healthy schnoodle who recently passed away from a blockage that went septic after surgery. She was 15 years old. So, I now have a 5 month old puppy that we got from a rescue and I am still trying to figure his eating and pooping out.

We have had him for about 6 weeks. He was on Purina Pro Plan, but I heard that wasnt so great, so we are switching over to Blue Buffalo small breed puppy. He has had soft pooh on and off since we got him - kinda like playdough??? The vet put him on Purina Flortiflora, and he has had 4 doses so far (1/2 packet/day) and really no change.

He has had a fecal exam with nothing showing up in it. He gets Bil Jack training treats and Old Mother Hubbard biscuits, and chews on a bully stick.

Any ideas? He is acting totally normal, lots of energy, happy and playful.

Im just stumped! Is his food too rich?

Thanks so much, Im new to this puppy stuff and was happy to find this forum!!!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
He was a bit better on pro I think, but he didnt like it so wasnt gaining weight.

What kind of treats do you use?

·
Registered
2,584 Posts
The freeze dried liver treats are really REALLY popular with the dogs. super expensive but they're dry (so shouldn't add moisture to poo if thats the problem) and any dog will work for a tiny, tiny piece. Get the smallest one at petco/smart and try them, they might be easier on his stomach.

·
Registered
262 Posts
Hi Everyone!!

I had a very healthy schnoodle who recently passed away from a blockage that went septic after surgery. She was 15 years old. So, I now have a 5 month old puppy that we got from a rescue and I am still trying to figure his eating and pooping out.