Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last weekend I picked up two puppies, they are lab and pitbull mix. They were eating purina canned puppy food for the person I got them from but they weren't eating it for me so I got the next closest thing which is purina puppy chow. They ate that very well, I mix it with water to soften it. I would like to feed them something that is better for them but I'm not sure what to get. I am a college student so I would like to get something that isn't going to break the bank.

Thanks for any help,
Jarred

·
Registered
20,765 Posts
One brand that's better than most but not very expensive is Diamond Naturals (not regular Diamond, just the Naturals line). If you have a Tractor Supply Co near you, they always have it. If not, run the store locator on Diamond's website to find a dealer in your area.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have noticed something when feeding these puppies. When we got them the brindle pup was the bigger of the two. Now the brindle pup is eating much less and the other pup is eating the majority of their food. The brindle pup is starting to look a little skinny. We try to feed them in different cages but brindle pup won't eat, she just whines. Then when I put them together the brindle will eat but she gets pushed aside by the larger other pup now.

They are both playing normally and are active when they are out of the cage.

My question is how can I get the brindle pup to eat more; how can I get them to eat in different cages (they will not be staying together all their life, the brindle will be coming to my house in two weeks after she gets her first set of shots because we currently have two older dogs here and don't want the pup to get sick); and how do I know if the brindle pup is getting enough food?

Thanks in advance,
Jarred

·
Registered
400 Posts