Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6,211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been lukewarm about our vet for some time now, and been considering switching to another. They've never done anything 'wrong' per say, and always treated myself and the animals well, but I just haven't felt like I had a good connection or relationship with them. Just something about it has never sat right with me. Based on past experiences, I feel like I have to second guess the advice they give instead of feeling like I can trust them 100% to do what is best for my animals.

So anyway, I've finally decided I'm going to switch after doing research on other practices in the area. I've found two that I am choosing between, but I feel confident in either choice. They both seem fantastic, patient oriented, and are highly raved about within the local animal community.

My question now is... how do I go about leaving the old vet? I've never done this before... should they give me trouble in asking for the animals' vet records? Will they ask why I'm leaving? Do they need to send the records to the new vet directly or will they just give them to me? I'd really rather not get into a long conversation about it and be made to feel bad/guilty for doing what I feel is best for my pets.

·
Registered
17,932 Posts
You don't actually need to do anything. Change vets, go to the new ones, they'll request the records and you're done.

Leaving the practice or not, though, you can always get your animal's record. There might be a tiny fee of a few dollars, but probably n ot.

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
I've always just had the old vet clinic send the records directly to the new clinic. If you say you need the records sent to such-and-such-clinic, they should have no problem doing it. I don't think they need any more information than that.

·
Registered
3,008 Posts