Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
We're getting close to the end of fostering 5 mixed-breed (GSD+??) puppies. We will be adopting one of them, and it's such a tough choice. What I'm wondering is how much of a puppy's behavior at 8-9 weeks can be expected to carry over into adulthood? One of our favorites seems less confident/more sensitive than the others, even though he's the biggest. With new things (like going outside or being a leash for the first times) he holds back and is hesitant. With his litter mates and with us in familiar surroundings, he acts just fine and engages in typical rambunctious puppy stuff. He also seems calmer than the others overall and is less bitey/jumpy. I'm not very experienced with dogs, so I'm wondering if this type of behavior will stick with him, or if he's just going to be a less outgoing dog. It's a little worrisome. Any insights are appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
935 Posts
If there not a biter as pup, as long as you don't promote it with certain types of rough play, they generally will not be as a adult.

Temper on the other hand is a bit of a crap shoot.
Socialization as they grow older, training and there encounters will play a huge influence.

The breed and parents temper is a good way to judge but without knowing one of them also makes it a crap shoot.

·
Registered
6,658 Posts
It's hard to say. Temperament can be adjusted somewhat, through training and socialization (it is possible to teach a shyer dog to be more outgoing, for example, but it takes a lot of careful work).

Personally, unless you're okay with the potential of a shy adult dog, I'd pick one of the more outgoing puppies.

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
Here is what my breeders always say. Yes. You can try to predict adult behavior but even when it appears the puppy is all that their planned genetics predict, they can still wash out in IPO, Police, Service work and so forth.