Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there everyone.

My name is Rachel and I am a single young working professional living in Toronto.

I have been considering getting a puppy for 4 years now and my want is growing by the day. Although I come from a family that never have had a dog growing up and I do not have much experience training, I have been doing plenty of research and am beyond certain I can manage it.

However, my only problem is I work fulltime - 8 hours a day with about 40 minutes travel time in total. I'm worried about not being home enough with the puppy. My heart is set on a chihuahua and it seems they have a good track record of being okay on their own in the day as they will most likely sleep. In september of this year I will be starting school again fulltime which will cut my hours away from home significantly, its the 8 months of me being away that I am hesitant about.

Thus my questions for you experts are;

Am I away from home too much? (I do have a roommate who works night and says she will be willing to help out here and there)

I have a HUGE crate a friend is willing to give me, is this a good step to take? Or let it be free within the day? (Chihuahua's are very fragile though, I am worried it could get hurt)

Is an hour in the morning and roughly 6-7 hours at night enough play time with my new puppy?

Is a female or male ideal?

Please respond, this is a huge commitment no doubt, and I want to make sure I am providing the new puppy a proper lifestyle.

Thank you!

·
Registered
5,931 Posts
This is jmo but working full time and going to school says, to me, that you shouldbwaitbto get a dog. If you weren't going to school, I'd suggest an adult dog biu you'll be away too much, IMO.

·
Registered
6,658 Posts
Just for clarification:
1. Are you moving away from Toronto temporarily to go to school?
2. Will you be keeping your full-time job in addition to going to school full-time?