Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First-time poster here considering a first dog/puppy. I want to run a few things by some experienced dog owners and more social people, see what you think.

1) I'm a truck driver for refrigerated company meaning long days but -generally- daylight hours. I live in the truck, no regularly-used residence. Seems that might adversely affect a puppy but not a mature dog so much. Is that right?

2) Loneliness is the main reason I'm considering life with a dog(lots of people but they come and go). I want to want a life with a dog but is that enough? What kind of comitment do I make aside from the span of years and a decent chunk of income?

3) I'm single. Good/bad for a dog/puppy?

4) What training should I do to myself before getting a dog? There's plenty of info up here (and thanks for it) but how about some self-imposed practices/routines?

Open to any random thoughts too.

·
Registered
11,341 Posts
1) If you can provide a secure, climate-controlled living space for the dog in your truck, then I see no reason why an adult dog would have any issues. There are plenty of truckers that have dogs. You will need to provide enough exercise for him which could take a little planning if you are often changing locations (are you local or over-the-road?) but walking a dog is a nice mental break for you and healthy too.