Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

Possibly getting a Samoyed. Is this the right thing to do?

11K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  Knute 
#1 ·
Hello all,
First time posting, I'd heard about the site so I figured "why not?".
So it's in the title. I have 3 dogs (two of which do not live with me, the one that does is a 9 yr old Cocker) and I am seriously considering getting a Samoyed, but I am really wondering if that is the right thing to do. My rationale is this:
1) Being a student is time consuming. I am a professional trainer and have trained over 200 dogs, and have worked in the behavior modification department with dozens of dogs at my local animal shelter, and as a trainer I understand the amount of time that needs to be put into daily walks, romps, runs, socializing, and training. My potential Samoyed would be looking to get his/her CGC by 6 months, my own ability willing. Competition and Rally would soon follow.
2) It's a big deal getting a puppy! This is an animal that will be with me for at least 12 years, and will be under some stress when I go to vet school and take him/her with me and beyond. It's an honor and responsibility being a dog owner, and I wonder if I can do it.
3) Potential stress for my Cocker. Ravi (the Cocker) has several medical issues, and when my Golden and Aussie come down to visit during breaks and the summer, I feel that Ravi feels less important due to the other dogs getting a lot of attention and goes after his paws and ears even more because of it (a big medical no-no for him). A new puppy could quite possibly bring about the same stress levels in him, regardless of my spending extra alone time with Ravi to let him know how loved he is.

This would be the first dog that is actually MINE. The Golden and Aussie are my moms, and the Cocker is my dads. He'd get brushed every day/every other day, and would want to get into dog packing on some trails once a week.