Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,714 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Papillon Nia(nye-ah) just turned 8 months old. I've been feeding her Innova Puppy since 5 months old and she's doing pretty good on it. The only problem is that she doesn't like the taste of the food and won't eat until she's starving. She used to be on Royal Canin before she came to me and she hated the taste of that too.

Recently I've discovered Orijen foods and they sound excellent to me! Since she still has 1/3 of a bag of Innova puppy, I just bought the adult Orijen for her. Is it alright to put a puppy on Orijen 6 Fish at 8 months old? I'll be mixing it with her puppy food for about a month. She loves the taste by the way!

The only thing I'm concerned about is that it has 44% protein! Would it damage her in any way? I've heard someone casually say that Papillons(or other small dogs) have high urea nitrogen levels or something on high protein. Is that true?

She's very active by the way. She gets 2 hours of dog chasing at top speed at day plus a 30 min walk.

Does anyone feed Orijen to their small breed dog? What breed? Are they doing well?

·
Registered
5,714 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I've considered Acana as well but the ingredients don't seem as good. The main reason I didn't decide on it is because it isn't carried in our pet food store. Actually I don't know any stores near me that carries it. Orijen however, is in 2 or 3 different stores here.

·
Registered
193 Posts
She should be fine on the Orijen fish at 8mo. Mixing it with the Innova puppy for a month will be a very easy transition. The high protein is not a concern unless she's been diagnosed with liver, kidney or pancreas diseas. Otherwise, it's not going to damage her. :)

I love Orijen...I think it's about as good as it gets for kibble. :) I currently feed my Yorkie EVO, which is also high protein, but when we're finished with this bag, I'm going to switch to Orijen.

·
Registered