Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,722 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have posted about it several times before, how Obi is reactive on walks but behaves perfectly at training. Starting at 6 months old, he would lunge, bark and growl at everything that moved on walks, even 100 metres away.

I eventually found info on fear aggression that fits perfectly; like only being reactive on walks, starting at 6 months, being fine in a class environment, reacting to all dogs no matter what size and gender etc.

Anyway, when he started doing it I started training him out of it, by keeping him below threshold and feeding loads of yummy treats whenever we saw people and dogs.

It didn't take all that long before he could hear a dog bark in the distance and not react, and as long as the people/dogs we saw were far enough away he would look to me for his treat instead of reacting.

He's been getting a lot better, but I've still had to manage his walks so that we always stay at a certain distance from other people.

But the other day we saw several people on our walk, some of which had dogs. I pulled Obi off the path and asked for a sit, and he sat calmly the whole time and just watched the go past. We were only about 3-4 metres off the path, so they were pretty close.

And today I had him on the long line, and before I knew it he had run up to someone's fence where there was a dog, but instead of being rigid and reactive and silly towards the other dog, Obi sniffed, then playbowed then tried to get the other dog to chase him.