Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Who says Pit Bulls can't be around other animals?? I've been working with Nubs for 5 months now to accept my parents ferrets so if one should escape he wouldn't go after them. It's getting to the point of being a success, but you can tell Nubs is a tad bit stressed out about it. He is just fine until the ferret makes a noise like sneezing or chipping then he is a little too curious and gets excited. But It's a work in progress. He'll never be allowed around them when they are running around playing, but he should know if one escapes they aren't toys.

So here are photos!

·
Registered
4,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

I use Mickey as the test subject because he is the biggest and most laid back of their 3 ferrets. He could care less that there is a 60lb dog looking at him. Boo has a habit of biting Nubs and latching on. Want to talk about locking jaws? Jeeze. Takes a bit to get her to let go. Poor Nubs had his eyelid bit and she just hung on for dear life. Its the reason Nubs is so scared of them.

·
Registered
4,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Aww, that so neat! How did you do that?!?!
It has a lot to do with his personality and our bond. My dad and I have been working with him near their cage a lot. We from day one didn't allow him to charge the cage and he had to be respectful of it. Over a matter of a month Nubs started to approach the cage calmly and we rewarded that. It helps that the ferrets leave yummy treats all over the house when they are out to play so he learned that their smell = yummy treats.

Then we started taking them out of the cage and holding them when he was around where he could see them but not touch them.