Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,725 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've tried like three different slicker brushes, and I haven't liked any of them. I don't know the brands, but they were either too stiff (making it uncomfortable for Meeko), too small, or too soft!

Any suggestions from ya'll?

Meeko is 7.5 lbs so I will need something that is small enough to use on him in harder to reach areas, but big enough that it does the job efficiently.

His worst area is near his butt where he gets a ton of undercoat stuck!

·
Registered
6,437 Posts
You need a pin brush and comb for areas like that.

·
Registered
4,725 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
You need a pin brush and comb for areas like that.
Pin brushes don't take out his undercoat? :/ Maybe I'm using it wrong. I have both but I rarely use the comb because he hates it so much..

I hate slickers, all my dogs hated them too. I use combs, pin brushes and rakes.
I've never used a rake before. Do you find that they work well? They make me nervous because they look like some strange torture device lol!

·
Registered
1,737 Posts
I had an Aussie. I swore by that Rake. Or, well I'm talking about the pin rake, not that strange shedding metal scary rake thing.... i feel like I just made this confusing. Lol.

Either way, it was the only to really pull the undercoat out, slickers and pin brushes didn't do much. I love the pin brush for brushing, but for really pulling out undercoat, defentily a rake. Just be careful and don't apply a lot of pressure, I accidently cut Royce once, the pins are sharp lol.

·
Registered
7,403 Posts