Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,
I stay in New Delhi, India.
I have a 5 month old male Cocker Spaniel named Maui, who's supposedly an English Cocker. I bought him from a vet for Rs 10,000 i.e 221$. What is bothering me is the fact that Maui has absolutely no fur or hair on his body unlike other Cocker Spaniels that I have seen. He only has wavy hair on his ears and that's pretty much it.

I'm not sure what his parents looked like.

What could be the reason for him not having any body fur? Could he be a mixed?

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
I'm not good with dog genetics, nor am I sure if a medical problem could cause that, but could you by any chance show us a picture?

·
Registered
11,145 Posts
From that picture, it looks like he does have fur*, it's just short -- is that what you meant? Some cockers I've seen do have shorter hair as puppies and seem to grow into their coats.

*or hair, I always confuse them, sorry groomers!

·
Registered
6,437 Posts
English cockers don't have that much fur to begin with, compared to american cockers that is.

Your dog does have fur, just short. He is only 5 months old, he isn't going to have his full adult coat right away. But then again it does all depend on genetics, if the parents didn't have a lot of fur it's not likely yours will.

Do you have a picture of him standing to the side? So we can see a side profile?

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
You certainly do have a Cocker Spaniel there, and a lovely one as well.

English Cockers have less coat that American Cockers. On top of that there are working or field bred lines of English Cocker Spaniels (and a few very rare American Working Cockers) which even have less coat than their show bred counterparts.

On any of the varieties of Cocker Spaniels the coat is very skimpy as pups, and slowly fills in. Often, in American Cockers, the coat continues to fill in until well past their third birthday.