Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello i have brindle and white pitbull that just had 9 healthy puppies. i recently adopted her from a shelter and found out about a month later she was gonna have babies. i was unable to find out what she was bred with but from the looks of her puppies they look like normal pit bull terriers, some kinda look like pit/boxer mix. since i am new to raising pit bull puppies i am not sure if i should give them away when they are old enough or sell them. they will have all required vet visits prior to them leaving. my question is if i do decide to sell the puppies what is a reasonable price for them? i am not really looking to make money off of them i just wanna make sure they go to good loving homes and maybe get some of my money back for the vet visits.

thank you,
cory

1337446812310.jpg

·
Banned
6,240 Posts
I would get them each spayed/neutered and sell them for the price of the spay/neuter cost.

·
Registered
20,765 Posts
You should charge enough to discourage dog fighters and bunchers (people who sell animals to laboratories). This amount will vary depending on the going rate where you live. You need to screen the propective new owners VERY carefully, especially since the pups are pit mixes. This means calling their vet (if they don't have a vet, they shouldn't have a dog), calling their landlord, finding out what happened to their previous pets, etc. You should probably have the puppies spayed/neutered before tranferring ownership. . .I don't really like pediatric spay/neuter for dogs but under the circumstances I think it's advisable. Or at least follow up with the new owners to make sure they have it done before the dog is of reproductive age.

Don't send any pup to a new home before 8 weeks. No matter what. They learn a lot of valuable dog lessons from their mother and littermates at that age.