Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a well-bred, double registered Cane Corso puppy, he is considered a working/show quality puppy by his breeder (who is reputable) and after a few months of thinking and doing some good reading on the AKC website and the main local kennel club's site, I have decided to take the dive and see how he does in the show ring. I have shown horses my whole life, and this is my first time owning a dog that is not only show quality, but I am actually in a position both time and financially, where I can show a dog, if I do the handling myself. Boss is now 6 months old, and our goal is the Magnolia Classic, in September. He is doing well in his CGC training (which I am doing myself) but I have no clue where to start with his conformation training- ie stacking him up, proper ring behavior etc. I guess I really need a mentor! When the local kennel club gets back to me, I will take the classes they offer as well, but really need someone to talk to, and who can be a friend and advisor in this new venture.

Thank you ahead of time for all feedback and information!

·
Registered
6,437 Posts
I know nothing of showing Cane Corsos (I have shown mastiffs and Bordeauxs) , they are not my breed, but I do show my dogs, and I am always willing to help new exhibitors. There are also a handful of owner handlers on here, other than me that I am sure could answer questions as well.

I do have one question though, is your breeder going to be helping you as well? They would be the first person to go to.

Getting into handling classes is your best bet, but also finding someone near you to mentor you will be a big help, thats why I ask about your breeder as they really should be the one to mentor you.

·
Registered
9,131 Posts