Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi im new to dog sports but not to dog ownership I wanting a dog for agility , k9 freestyle and flyball and dog disc

My qustion is what breed of dog would you sugest I get?

grew up in the country and had kelpies and or kelpie crosses,working dogs my whole life so i have experaince with working breeds

been looking at geting a koolie or Australian Shepherds or a border collie want to know if anyone knows the main difference between the breeds ?

for dog sports is it beter to train from a pup or is a rescue just as good in comp ?

·
Registered
5,284 Posts
Any of the breeds you mentioned are suited to doing those kinds of things. A Border Collie might be slightly faster for flyball or disc. But it is hard to harness all that drive and be successful in training so just keep that in mind.

My vote is for agility. I've been training in agility for 2 years and love it.

Nothing wrong with a rescue, just evaluate the dog first to see if they are food/toy motivated. X-Raying their hips would be a good idea, too.

·
Registered
3,946 Posts
Agree with MM.

Agility is a ton of fun, and I particularly like it because it challenges the dog mentally as well as physically. The handler, too for that matter! It is probably the most expensive dog sport, but you will gain a whole new group of friends that way. The folks I've met through agility are some of my best friends.

I also play disc competitively. It involves more travel, as there are fewer people into it, and therefore fewer competitions. It is generally far less expensive than agility, but you are also going to be learning a lot of stuff on your own (unless you are fortunate to live near a club of experts).