Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I adopted a cute little Terrier Mix last month. Her name is Sochi. This is my first time having a house pet. Sochi is currently taking puppy training classes at Petsmart. I'm feeling a bit frustrated with the class because, while we're working on introducing basic commands, its not that she doesn't already know the commands. The problem is she doesn't listen when we're outside of the home. She follows all the commands in the house when were practicing. But as soon as we step foot outside it goes blowing in the wind. In class, its the same thing. She doesn't listen, so I'm not sure if the class is a waste of money.

When we're out, she doesn't hear a thing I say because she's so distracted by all the sights, sounds, smells, people passing by, other dogs barking miles away. The simplest thing catches her attention. I try to take her out with me, but its difficult when I can't contain her. I can't even get her to go potty outside. She'll hold it for hours and as soon as she gets in the car, she let's go.

I hope I can find some solutions to our problems soon.

·
Registered
7,262 Posts
Welcome to Dog Forum and congratulations on your new pup! How old is Sochi? If she's young, everything is new to her and will be a huge distraction. Even if she's not young, things are still new to her if she's only been with you a month. It's expected that she will respond easily in your quiet, familiar living room, but not in a new environment filled with so many exciting things. Plus, dogs tend not to generalize well, so she doesn't really understand that "sit" means the same thing in the living room and the kitchen and the yard and at the park. Plus, young pups have the attention span of a gnat.