Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

I was just wondering what you would recommend more, see I live in an apartment complex and I'm adopting a puppy that was found on the street (6 weeks old) so while he adjusts to a house life and his health stabilizes from the change from street to house I was planning to use a synthetic grass trainning mat. But would you recommend that when the time comes when he can go outside we move the potty training outside?

You should know that I'm a student living with other 2 guys in an apartment complex and while I'm most of the time at home or someone always is, I plan to start working this semester so my chances for taking him outside are practically none if I intend to have a somewhat strict/constant schedule.

So I was planning in having a crate where he would sleep in inside my room, so he could always be there with me and see me at night (also I can check on him more efficiently) and have the potty trainning mat in the bathroom which is part of the master bedroom where I sleep (it has a considerable space to move around, approx. 3.5 x 2.5 meters), the mat is about 52 x 77 cm so it will be used all into his adult life when he is full grown, I was told the puppy would grow to be a medium sized dog or a little bigger.

So considering we would let him stay alone some time of the day and there would not be always someone there to help him outside, do you think I'm making the right choice?

Thanks in advance guys!
E. Santiago

·
Registered
8,384 Posts