Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

This is my first time to this site. And I'm sure I will get the most help here. I am so looking forward to reading through the threads.

We just got our new puppy this past weekend. He is an 8 week old Olde English Bulldogge. His name is Tank and he is the new love of our life. My heart is breaking though today because this was the first day we had to leave him because we had to go to work.

At night we are doing the crate training. He sleeps in his crate and when we wake up in the morning; take him potty and then he sleeps in our bed until it's time for us to leave. Last night was the worst night in the crate; but I am sure the first couple of days are going to be the hardest. He's been very good though; hasn't had any accidents in his crate so far.

As for when we have to go to work. I put a gate up at the entry into our master bathroom. Which is all tile. He has his blankets; his 'fake grass' potty place; and lots of toys and his water and his food for the morning. It just hurts to hear him crying.

Has anyone else been in the same boat as me. Does it get easier.

Thanks so much.

·
Registered
10,186 Posts
Yes, it gets easier. Just don't respond to the whining, and he'll stop. He's just scared and lonely. He's used to being around his mom and littermates, and now he's not. But he'll get used to his new home soon enough.

Just remember: whatever you reward (with attention) now, he'll be doing every day for the next 15 years or so. If you like whining, reward it. If you don't think you'll like whining so much in a year, don't reward it.

Puppies are tough. They are time consuming and frustrating, but eventually they turn into dogs, and if you put in the time now, your reward is many years with a well behaved dog.

And it breaks my heart to go to work, too. I'd much rather stay home all day and pay attention to my dog.