Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone im new to the dog forum i recently adopted a new family member his name is Brody. he seems to be scared all the time with his tail not between his legs but down any insight? he is a boxer hound mix or at least that's what they told us he was.hes only been at our house for 4 days.

·
Registered
8 Posts
You don't mention how old Brody is. our rescue pup, Baer was 5-6 months old when we got him. He was very quiet and reserved, wouldn't eat out of a bowl (had to put food on wax paper on the floor) and kept to himself most of the time and his tail was down a lot. 2 months later, he's a different dog. Eats out of his bowl, follows us around the house, playful and tail up. Quite the little terror, even harasses the cat. Last week we got our second rescue, Fritz, a 4-5 year old schnauzer mix. A mill dog. Our first day he would just stand there and shake. Wouldn't walk on hardwood floors (only carpet), no eating out of a bowl, couldn't go up or down stairs. Would not walk on a leash. One week later, he walks (tentatively) on the hardwood, but prefers carpet. Wags his little stump, makes eye contact and walks on the leash. He can now go up stairs but has not gotten going down yet. My advice is patience, soft reassuring voices, gentle petting and massaging, and time. These special souls need love, time, patience and reassurance.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3