Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, everyone! I'm expecting to pick up my new puppy in about a month (at 12 weeks, after some initial training). In order to fill the time before I get down to the real work of managing a new puppy and getting into the day-to-day of training, I'm surfing forums for information. I'm no stranger to the internet and know 99.9% of it is garbage and whining, but there seems to be a larger number of positive stories and people here so I'm hoping to learn more about your wonderful dogs.

I am a novice when it comes to training my own dog but have had opportunities to work with other trainer and other dogs and have loved it. Beyond basic obedience, I don't have immediate plans; I think I'll see if my own dog has any particular aptitude and work with that. If you have your own dog training stories, I'd love to hear them!

·
Registered
15 Posts
The one piece of advice I would give to any new puppy owner is to concentrate on bonding with your puppy and getting it to focus on you. It’s always easy to teach a dog commands or tricks, but the most important thing to me is to form trust with my dogs.

Puppies, like human babies, are hard work and it’s going to take time and patience to help your puppy grow into a well behaved adult. Don’t forget to enjoy the crazy puppy stage, because it doesn’t last very long, and before you know it, it will be over. Good luck with your dog!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I look forward to the next year or so of crazy puppy stage and learning what kind of dog he is going to become.

What's your dog story? I'd love to learn more about it!

·
Registered
713 Posts