Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey, I'm Rin, 26 years old in Charlotte, NC.

I am a professional petsitter/dog walker at the moment, and I've got two dogs of my own.

We've had Shelby since she was 12 weeks old, in September 2009. We adopted her from the kill shelter when we were living in Jacksonville, NC (My husband was in the military). I grew up with dogs, my husband didn't. But all my parents dogs were adult rescues, I'd never raised a puppy before. It was a great and interesting experience! We are sure she's either a pure herding line or high percentage Australian Shepherd/mix. We located a working line Aussie breeder less than half an hour from our house and he said she isn't one of his pups, but she is most likely from his lines and maybe bred with someone's show type or another herding dog. She's a very serious, focused, dog that takes her 'job' intensely seriously, whatever she decides is her job at the moment. It is hard to get her to relax and just play with other dogs. Personally I like her intensity and sensitivity, but she's not the dog for everyone! Strangely enough, the only other dogs she gets excited about are Aussies, other dogs she pretty much ignores.