Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I'm new to the forums and I'm a brand new dog owner! My boyfriend and I adopted Rex on Thursday of this past week and he is wonderful! He's a 4 yr old(vet guess) 95 lbs Mastiff Mix. He was a unidentified rescue. I'm also waiting for my certificate to get him neutered. But, so far everything has been a dream with him!

I did a lot of research on breeds and training techniques prior to the adoption. I am brand new to dog owning, but I feel as though I'm doing a good job with training (although I suspect that he did have some training somewhere in his life, lol, seems almost too easy!) Within a day I had him a) in the bathtub getting a bath, b) loose leash walking, c) sitting, laying down.

There are two behaviors that I don't like. I'm concerned with when we're walking he is a little fearful of passing cars. He stops, turns to face the vehicle and sometimes tries to jump over the ditch to get away. I would like to desensitize him to this and I'm not too sure how. I try to keep him walking, but he's still aware of the cars.