Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here.

[Background]
So I have a 1.5 year old male Samoyed who is neutered. He has had bad luck with meeting other dogs in the past. Many times while the dogs are sniffing each other, the other dogs will start growling or barking at Albert. He hasn't done anything to provoke the situation and when he meets new dogs he is always on leash because he does get overly excited. One thing is Albert has never been is aggressive with other dogs, even when they began barking or growling at him.

[Problem]
Just this past weekend we went to a doggy party for a friend of ours dog who we barely see just because we live so far away. Their dog is a 2 year old female Golden, spayed. Albert gets along OK with her, again his problem is just that plays pretty roughly and gets overly excited and "in your face." He was surprisingly more calm this time than the last time they met so I was feeling happy about the situation. That is until another dog came over for the party. It was a ~2 year old male Australian Shepard, intact. They had met before and I didn't expect an issue until they mentioned that there could be aggression on Albert's side because the other dog was intact and it could cause "ball envy." I didn't believe it until the two of them were sniffing each other and suddenly the other dog began bearing a bit of his teeth then it happened so quick but it appeared like Albert barked and the other dog lashed out.