Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
361 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work as a vet tech so on a regular basis I get to see the bad things people do to animals, people not properly caring for them, people who plain old WON'T properly care for them, people who abuse them, etc...

I don't want to say this has hardened my heart. I still love and appreciate good owners and I love the animals, but I have learned to kinda shrug it off when a bad one comes in. Usually the other techs and I complain about it for a little and then you just have to put it out of your mind or you can't keep doing your job.

Once in awhile though one comes in that REALLY gets to me, that has me crying or so angry I can't deal with the owners.

We had one of those at work yesterday. A woman came in with a really sweet miniature schnauzer as an emergency, saying that the dog had a cut on it's neck. It did not have just a cut on it's neck! It had a rubber band around it's neck and one ear cutting about an inch and a half into the skin!

This was not a recent injury, it takes a bit of time to get that deeply into the neck, especially since some skin was growing over the rubber band. According to the owner they had even just given the dog a bath but hadn't touched it's neck because it's been acting like it didn't like it, well duh!

Then to top it off they can't afford to get it taken care of. We give them options, names of clinics that take CareCredit (we don't), a local aspca hospital, etc... Nope, not interested. Nor do they want to sign the dog over to us.

Finally they agree that they'll pay for us to sedate the dog, remove and clean the wound, and take some antibiotics. It should still heal from doing that but not nearly as well as if we had been able to suture the areas that needed it and put the dog fully under anesthesia to really clean it all out. Still, in a case like this we'll take what we can get.