Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, On May 7th I adopted a 6 month old Golden Retriever/German Shepherd Mix from Miami Dade Animal Services. When he was given to me he seemed to be in fine physical condition and they also said that he passed all his health exams. The next day I started to notice signs of him becoming sick. He had a runny nose and was sneezing. I didn't pay much attention to it because it just seemed like a standard cold. As the weekend progressed he started coughing up flem and just seemed to not be feeling well. I took him into the vet on Monday morning to find out that he has severe Pneumonia and would cost me $1200 to make him better. I am a poor college student and I was quite shocked to say the least. He is being hospitalized now but I was just wondering if I have any legal rights to make the shelter at least help me with the bills? I have called multiple times and gotten hung up on and left messages but have received no answer. The vet said that his illness has been ongoing for at least 2 weeks and that the shelter should have diagnosed it. I know I signed a waiver saying that I accept the dog as is but I was also told that he was in fine physical condition. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
6,532 Posts
I am so sorry this has happened. It is so good of you to adopt a dog from a shelter but it pains my heart to hear what you are going through now. I dont have any advice except to maybe personally visit the shelter and maybe try to talk to someone face to face.. It is so easy to play games on the phone.

I wish you the best...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·