Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I am a college student whose entire life revolves around the love for animals. I have a Labrador mix of my own and ever since February, I have taken the challenge of fostering a small terrier mix that apparently has allergies.

Vinny

Vinny is approximately 8-9 years old. He was adopted out around the age of 1-2 years old to a family in south Florida. Years (6) after being adopted he was then returned to the same facility with the statement of "I think he is allergic to grass"....

How devastating could this trauma be for poor little Vinny boy? Vinny was covered in fleas, has hair loss along his back, his ears were literally like leather, he had severe dental problems, anemic, extremely skinny... just a total mess.

He was at the shelter (no kill) for two months before I picked him up and brought him home.

I then began this journey that has left me hopeless at times. I don't know what else to do for this little angel and precious creature.

I had my own dog on Ultra; Vinny came home with me with a bag of Purina but I didn't really want to feed him that. I was previously in a vet assisting course so I knew a couple things here and there regarding allergies. So I went out and got a bag of "limited ingredient" Natural Balance lamb. Vinny's major problem is the intense licking and biting of his belly and flank area. Vinny gained weight but there were not much to say in terms of improvement.