Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

My dog Wolf (Husky/Labrador Mix) used to shed twice a year, now he's pretty much shedding year round. I think I've also messed up his coat by not brushing him with metal combs, just some cheap rubber gloves for dog hair brushing / removal.

Now he has some out of place white elongated hairs on his black coat, and it doesnt look that groomed anymore. Should I get him a haircut and restart from the beginning? I've never cut his hair. I can keep him indoors in the winter if his hair has not grown until there.

What do you guys think? Thank you :)

·
Registered
214 Posts
I have always heard that huskies should never be shaved or cut, but I am no expert. I can tell you though that my husky sheds all year round. I brush him with a plain ole two sided brush at least every other day. One side is metal and the other bristles. Since we got Rosie and her hair was soooo terribly matted, I bought one of those rakes that is similar to a Furminator. It does really good with getting to the undercoat and raking out the matts.

·
Registered
1,933 Posts
It sounds like he just has alot of undercoat that hasn't come out, and the "elongated white" hairs are probably just that. A good grooming is all he needs. Shaving him isn't going to do much, except make the hairs that shed short, and you risk the chance of it not growing back correctly..ie: mostly undercoat and splotchy. Sometimes doublecoated dogs grow back fine, sometimes they don't. I would say its a 50/50 shot. Get him a good professional groom, and use that as your start over point. A groomer can get all that loose coat out, and get him back in shape so you can keep up with brushing and combing him.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)