Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to dealing with food sensitivities. When I was growing up we had a German Shepherd who ate Pedigree her entire life with absolutely no digestive or skin issues (of course she did die of cancer at 9 years old). Last week my dog suddenly developed explosive diarrhea (he was eating Blue Buffalo Chicken and Rice). I called the vet who told me to switch him to a bland diet. I didn't have any chicken that night so I fed him ground beef and rice, then went to the store for chicken the next day.

So he had one tiny formed stool after the ground beef. This might have been his first truly formed stool of his 1.5 years of life, they have always been soft and I thought that was just normal. As soon as I switched to the chicken he had watery stools again, so I have determined that he can never have chicken again. So now I am trying to find a new quality food for him. A couple months ago he had a skin infection/rash that tested negatively for ringworm. The only change in his diet was that I was giving him canned food with salmon in it as a treat, so I am hesitant to give him anything with fish in it.

Since he was doing well on the beef I tried finding something with beef, but have been unsuccessful. In addition, every quality food I have looked at with "alternate" protein sources has turkey or fish. So I am trying Nature's Recipe with Venison right now and so far it is going well. The ingredients look pretty good to me and it "scores" well on the rating system that my breeder gave me to select a dog food. But it is the cheapest dog food I have found that isn't bargain brand. You would think that is great but it makes me a little suspicious. Is there anything I am missing in this ingredient list? Or does anyone have a suggestion for a good food with beef/venison/or possibly rabbit as a protein source? My budget is $50 for a 30-35 lb bag.