Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, we took our show type english cocker spaniel to a groomer in England the other day and they shaved him completely , without our permission . We were horrified when we picked him up , he was supposed to have a small trim , he had lovely curly hair and now I am afraid it wont grow back. He is 8 months old and as he is a show type I have a feeling he has 2 coats. The groomer obviously didnt have a clue what they were doing, but wondering will it come back and grow like before? How long might it take? Anyone with any experience?
Thanks

·
Super Moderator
3,475 Posts
Disclaimer that I'm not a professional groomer by any means, I've just done a fair bit of reading since I groom my own dogs. I'm also not familiar with what goes into a show clip for English Cockers, so if you want to show him or maintain him in a show clip and want to know how shaving will affect that, I suggest reaching out to his breeder or someone in the kennel club to get specific advice.

My understanding is that a healthy double-coated dog will typically be able to recover from a shave-down without lasting coat changes (with the exception of harsh wire-haired coats). Your most important job is to regularly brush him out as it's growing back, to prevent the top coat from getting tangled and impacted into the undercoat. Undercoat grows faster than the top coat, so he might look a little funny for a while, but give it three or so months and I bet it'll be back to looking normal.