Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I’m new to this fourm and GSD’s! I just picked up my brand new baby GSD mix yesterday. I got him from a local shelter, who did all vaccinatons, deworming etc for free! I’m not sure what hes mixed with, because all they told me that he was German Shepherd Mix. Hes super curious and a little ADHD haha! Anyway, his name is Mateo and hes amazing, but I do have a few questions:
I bought kirkland brand wet/dry food, which has no corn, dyes etc. I’m feeding him about 1 & 1/3 cup dry, and about 4.5oz wet: twice a day. Is this too much/too often?
I hear all this talk about pointy ears, is it a health concern or purely cosmetic? Because his ears are floppy.
Lastly, he seems to do a lot of play biting/teething. Is this normal?
Thanks everyone!
pic aswell

Attachments

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
Hi. For whatever reason, I can't see the pictures. It might be better to use a photo hosting site (I like Flickr) to upload them to, and then copy and paste the codes.

Some shelters label all dogs as "mixes", even when they are obviously purebred.

As for how much to feed him, start with the suggested amounts on the package. If he starts looking too thin, up the amount. If he starts looking too pudgy, cut back a bit. You want to easily feel his ribs, but only see the last pair or two.

As for his ears, it could be he is mixed with a floppy-eared breed. It's also possible for a purebred GSD to have soft ears that never stand. It's mainly a cosmetic concern, in my opinion, because my GSD with nice, upright ears has had so many ear infections that I've lost count.

·
Registered
1,768 Posts
If he is a pure GSD by 11 months old his ears should be up. If not, then he has soft ears which is not a desirable breed standard (but it does not matter as he is probably neutered and not breeding anyway).