Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am new to this whole forum thing so I'm not sure what to do. Lol. I am currently experiencing a major problem with our new male GSD pup. I have had numerous dogs in my lifetime and have never had any problems with crate training any of them but we just CAN NOT seem to figure him out and it is getting VERY frustrating!! We brought him home on Feb 17, 2010 n he was 8 wks and was still sleeping in a play yard with his litter mates that were left. So as we had figured he was kinda whiney when we put him in his crate to go to bed at night. But the thing of it is, he started out whining but then started to bark and then to howl!! We tried to ignore him n let him soothe himself but that simply DID NOT work!! It just seemed to make him get louder and for longer periods of time!! So after about 5 days and only about 10 hrs of sleep total!! I did some research online and came across ideas of covering the crate-NO, using an alarm clock-NO, leaving the tv or radio on-NO,putting a stuffed animal in the cage to snuggle with or toys to keep him occupied-NO!!!!!!

Well we eventually did figure out what worked to keep him quiet at bedtime (some of you will NOT agree with this method-I know) and that was to put my pit bull in with him at night to go to bed, my pit bull doesn't mind the cage at all with him because he loves to snuggle!! Tundra (GSD) doesn't make one noise at all, not even a whimper. And I have asked my vet about this method and he said he doesn't see a problem with it as long as neither one of them seem to mind.