Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, im new to the forum :) let me relay my tales of woe and hopefully a kind soul can help me to find a solution to this problem!

I have a Golden Retriever, male, almost 3 years and not neutered (my father forbid it, siiiigh) He's kind, gentle, and very playful. When he was a pup he got attacked by neighbours unbound dog numerous time (or at least circled, im now an expert at seperating dog fights) And while now he learns to ignore dogs, he still occasionally lunges when another dog is in sight. (unless its a small breed) Oh btw im from Malaysia where dog respondsibility awareness still have alot of room to be improved and lots of owners just let the dogs walk themselves, you can see how troubling this can be.

i've only recently finished my 10 weeks training with Canine Sportsclub in Malaysia and i must say the training really paid off! yes its a little late to train him but better late then never. He passed his obedience with flying colours.

This evening as i was walking him, a neighbour's mongrel came out to play with him. This puppy is smart and is a very submissive one because as soon as my dog growl and lunges forward the mongrel pup rolls on its back and that stops my dog's agressiveness immediately. After making sure my dog is not going to attack the pup i let my GR off leash and they both run around the park chasing eachother, playing, roughing up but not fighting. They seem genuinely happy with one another and this goes on for about 15 minutes before i notice its darked and we have to go home.

i command my Maxi to sit and stay while i put him back on leash to go home which he immediately obeys. The pup approached us trying to rub against Maxi. My dog immediately SNAPS at it aggresively, but i already sense him tensing up and yanked it away from the pup before he could strike a bite.