Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am looking for some help. My wife and I have 2 labs and a chihuaha. The oldest lab is a 2 year old female named Harley and she has been with me since she was a pup and listens to me very well, actually all the dogs listen to me very well. If Harley could speak she would say that she is second in the dominance chain of command which is a HUGE problem. When I am around all is well, as soon as I leave the room Harley really acts up and will not listen to my wife and I need some advice or tricks or anything on how to stop this so if anyone out there has run into this type of issue before please let me know how to correct it.

·
Registered
3,477 Posts
Way back in October when I started training my group we hit that wall. It got to the point where they would leave the room to go look for me when she gave them a command. This will sound weird and feel even worse, but it works wonders for the pack understanding without spending time with each dog/wife combination. Basically, you act the part of lead dog, and she gives you commands that you immediately obey. The entire group needs to be nearby to witness this change in command order. So a bit of excited, up beat conversation between you and the wife should get them curious to come and see. Don't call them over, they need to bring themselves to this crazy scenario. Also, don't let them engage. Their task is to just watch this go down. Keep them about 3-10 feet away but watching. No need to spend tons of time on repetition and specifics, just sit like a dog (on the floor) when she tells you sit and so on. Have her point to a spot a few feet away and go there and sit. Stuff like that for maybe five to ten minutes once or twice a day. Then everyone goes their own way. My five picked this up almost instantly the first day. Now they listen to her without my presense. Other little things around the house help solidify her