Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I have a 3 months old poodle and it's my first time ever owning a dog. Lately, I noticed that he won't eat anything except for meat (specially chicken breast, chicken thighs..chicken in brief). He also refuses to eat his dog salami or canned dog food. He used to eat vegetables like carrots, potatoes..etc. As well as rice and pasta. He used to eat eggs too and he loves it, now he rejects them too.
Now, all he does is lick anything I offer him and then reject it (except of course for the meat).
Does this have anything to do with him being in "changing teeth" phase? Or has he become picky?
What do I do to make him eat?
It kinda makes me frustrated to cook him special meals that end up being thrown in the bin. And I'm also getting worried about his health!
Do you have ideas about recipes that he would love ? I would love your suggestions !

·
Super Moderator
11,460 Posts
Two thoughts: It is reasonable to be worried about his health and I would start with a vet check to make sure there are no medical issues that are causing loss of appetite. And 2, most dogs, once they get a taste of real meat, they are reluctant to go back to kibble or canned.

Conventional wisdom is, a healthy dog won't starve himself, though he might hold out for quite a while. But first, you need to be certain he's healthy. Only a vet can do that.

·
Registered
1,505 Posts
First of all, what size poodle? Toy breed puppies are prone to hypoglycemia and so them not eating well is extra concerning. I agree with RonE about checking with a vet, especially if this change was sudden.