Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Recently my friend has been struggling to cope with her GSD, Milo. He’s only 7 months old yet he already has lots of behavioural problems that I’m aiming to work through. I’m studying an animal course and have lots of experience with dogs but Milo is challenging due to his size and high energy. Most of his problems revolve around walking.

Firstly, he cannot be with small dogs. He is not aggressive with dogs but he essentially squishes them. Even if the dog responds with a yelp or lunges at him, he will not stand off. He seems to lack social cues that most dogs have developed at his age but I know he is still young and has learning to do. My friend is afraid to walk him in busy areas due to this. I’m not sure how to tackle this because he won’t break his focus from a small dog for a treat or to play.

Secondly, he is very strong and pulls relentlessly so he has to wear a halti, which rubs on his face. She has switched the halti for a padded one, which still rubs on his nose. I’ve been trying to correct this through clicker training. I’ve been using the command ‘Heel’ within the house and clicking and treating him if he comes to my side. But as soon as he is outside his focus from people is lost and he only wants to pull to other dogs. Should I change my tactic?

Also, Milo plays very rough with people. He will mouth and bite people and eventually hurts them. He jumps up and scratches. Mine and my friends arms and hands have been covered in bruises and scratches from him constantly doing it. I have tried to stand and turn away from him but even then, he will not stop. The only way he will stop if he is removed from the room.

Milo is walked for about an hour daily, off leash.

Thank you.

·
Registered
2,280 Posts