Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my dog for over two years now. I found her on the side of the road at an estimated age of nine months. I have learned quite a bit about training and behavior over this time, and I am very grateful for the guidance I have received on this forum. The dog is a brindle mutt that looks like a mix of pit and boxer. She is almost three legged having a hind leg that was broken and allowed to heal without proper medical care. I have no idea what she experienced in the nine months before she was dumped on the roadside but I imagine it was an ugly, neglectful, and abusive situation. I suspect this because of the injury to her leg and her displays of defensive aggression towards people. She also has issues with arousal. My focus has been on managing her behavior and conditioning relaxed and non reactive behaviors as well as I can as an amateur trainer. I had taken her to a compulsion/praise trainer despite the warnings from members on this site and learned the hard way as she was stressed and turning on the woman administering corrections with a choke chain. Ever since then she has been trained on a harness with a verbal marker and food rewards. I've made a lot of progress in shaping a loose leash walk, heel, down, sit, recall, leave it, lets go,touch...etc. During training I do not use any positive punishment.