Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I apologize if I’m posting in the wrong thread. I’m fairly new to this and I really needed some advice.
I’m currently an animal science student who lives in an apartment temporarily. I am not a first time owner, we currently have an Australian Shepherd and a Siberian Husky, however they are 7 hours away. My sibling owns the Australian Shepherd and my father owns the Siberian Husky. I’m honestly really lonely, it hasn’t been good for my mental state, and I’ve been wanting to get a dog due to this. I’ve also never been on my own so the isolation is getting to me, and I don’t necessarily feel safe all of the time.
My apartment allows pets and has amenities right by my front door like a dog park.
When I come home for breaks which would be 2-4 months at a time, the dog will be coming home with me to a house with a huge yard, otherwise the dog will be exercised constantly at the dog park that I’m a one minute walk away from. After college, I will be going back home, I am only living in this apartment temporarily as I’ve mentioned before. (Also, during his or her puppy stages, I’ll be living at home.)

My dream dog has always been a long haired German Shepherd. I have also had other dogs on my mind such as Akitas, Dobermans, Chow Chows, and Beaucerons.

Are there any differences regarding the gender of the breeds I’m selecting?

I’d like a male but I am also open to suggestions for other breeds as well.
I’d like a dog breed that is:

-I prefer a breed that’s medium to large
-velcro dog/loyal
-somewhat protective
-hopefully something that isn’t an escape artist! :)
-shedding is not an issue and I am willing to get the dog groomed whenever it is needed.
-the dog should be highly trainable, I intend on taking the dog to classes if there are any behavioral issues. I’ll probably be going to puppy classes regardless.