Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got my current GSD Kenya, from the shelter. I don't regret that for one minute, but in all honesty, she is the opposite of what a GSD is supposed to be. shes shy and fearful ,I love her for exactly who she is but I know that in the FUTURE, I would like to add another GSD to the family, and would like to go the breeder route, something I've never done before. thankfully, kenya adores other dogs..

Well heres what I'm looking for in a breeder:

-Great health guarantee
- Genetic testing
- A breeder who keeps in contact with those who have one of his pups, who would appreciate pictures/updates
- I'm open to all lines, but im just gonna be honest. Im very picky about the "look" i want. some of the american show line breeders just turn me off
- I love sables
- Early socialization is very important to me
- Not more than 1 litter at a time.. or perhaps 2
- Their dogs are family, more than just their titles, descriptions of their personalities are important.
- More than just showing would be nice :) CGC titles, Sch, Therapy work, Agility, Rally Obedience, etc..
- not as important as the others, but one of the things I like to see is a VARIETY of pictures of the parents. not just a stacking pictures...

Im not looking for a Puppy NOW, as a prevet student.. getting a puppy just wouldn't be a good idea. but, a good GSD breeder is hard to come by.. and its never too late to begin research :)

thanks for any help and recommendations :)

·
Registered
9,131 Posts
www.marcatogsd.com

Her website isn't finished yet, but her ideals of the Perfect GSD are IMO everything a GSD should be.

She is very picky about temperment, she doesn't like a fearful dog or a spooky one. She puts emphasis on good working structure while still keeping with the breed standard, I have personally met her bitch, and that little girl has the sweetest personality with fear of nothing.

·
Registered
4,072 Posts