Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I am new to the dogforums and I wanted to say hello and also get some feedback on an idea I'm working on.

I realize that dog owners should not be away from their dogs for long periods of time on a regular basis, but sometimes there are circumstances where it is necessary and an auto-feeder is a good tool.

I am designing an auto-feeder specifically for large breed dogs. All of the auto-feeders on the market currently seem very cheap and are not large-dog-proof. I have heard numerous sad stories of large dogs somehow getting into the food in their auto-feeder and passing away as a result.

The one I am designing is mechanically automated, durable, sturdy, safe, and most importantly, large dog-proof.

My questions are:

What would be your interest in an auto-feeder like this?

What do you think the FidoFeeder would sell for as described?

What features would be necessary to make it a success?

Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you!

Eric

·
Registered
539 Posts
A large breed dog would need a unit that was at least 2' off the ground, stainless steel and be able to hold a sufficient amount of food. For example my Great Dane as a younger dog ate 12C of food a day... so for it to have been worth my while it would have to hold several days worth. Large dogs slobber so the bowl would have to be removable for regular cleaning. It would really only be practical for a single dog household... esp. if you have a large breed "mosey on around and nibble throughout the day dog" and a "eat it all at once" dog... living together.

I personally wouldn't purchase a feeder... My dog needs to be let out way more than he needs to eat... so if someone is there to let him out, someone is there to feed him too. But that's just me :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3