Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi this is my first time post, and I have a real problem with my 4 month old Lab pup named Gus. This is the 5th lab I have raised in my life time and by far is the smartest of all by far, but when I attach a lead to him he just lays down and puts on the brakes. I have never had any problem like this in my life and don't know what to do. I would rather he drag me around, because I know I could train him to stop that. This is making my wife and I very unhappy because he is loved very much and we want to take Gus with us. We can't take him for a walk to the park or for a hike in the woods. He will walk off lead but I'm afraid to take him anywhere being off lead unless we are at the park or at the woods. The problem is just getting him there. I have tried a not to force him to walk on the lead in fear of making it worse. Please help with any suggestions. Thank You ED :confused:

·
Registered
673 Posts
My BMD pup did the same thing when we brought her home, just keep at it and also it really helped when there was another dog there for her because she would get up and follow

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank You Dakotajo ,but we have tried the other dog deal and he still will not move. He will follow the other dog off lead but not on. Thanks for your reply

·
Registered
20 Posts
Ed,
Sounds like he is playing the old sack of potatoes routine and you have let him win. This can be corrected in a few minutes so hopefully I can help you here. This is a common response if labs become stubborn or spoiled.