Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay we have a new puppy it is the first time my boyfriend has ever owned a dog and it is my first time having to actually think of what to buy for her to eat to be healthy.

Laila lays farts that can clear a room in seconds. From her face it seems like she doesn't even realize it is her that causes everyone to walk away. We take her outside immediately but she never needs to go potty.

She was a rescue puppy we believe her to be a Boxer/Lab. We also believe she was originally on Pedigree type food. When we got her, we put her on Ultra Dog Food but that made her VERY Stinky. So we changed her food to Natural Choice but then her skin was extremely itchy and still pretty gassy.
My brother recommended AvoDerm so she is currently on that and is almost as bad as when we first got her.

When the food is changed we gradually mix it in so it is not a drastic change. Also, since she has been on the AvoDerm we have been giving her 1.5 Gas B Gone tablets every day which we later moved up to 2 a day.

She is not getting any better, does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
20,765 Posts
Has she been de-wormed and all that? Is her poop firm and generally healthy-looking (for poop, lol)?

For the food, I'd avoid corn, wheat, and soy (plant matter digests slower so has more time to ferment in there. . .phew!). What stores do you have available? Is there a Tractor Supply in the area? Any small privately-owned feed stores? What's your price range?

No matter what food you settle on, I recommend a probiotic. You can get one for humans, they're usually cheaper and more potent. But they do sell some specifically for pets if you prefer, though. You can also put some plain yogurt in her food, but a probiotic pill is stronger.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3