Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there - I am fairly new to fostering pups and took in a 10 pound, 8-year-old little Shih Tzu just last Friday. The director of the rescue had her in her care for about 4 days, in ISO, and didn't notice any signs of coughing but Bella was taken tot he vet where she was given medication for an infection in both ears, itchy skin due to food allergies (shelters clearly aren't equipped to feed dogs with allergies special foods), and updated on her shots. Bella was dropped off Friday afternoon and I noticed very distinct coughing as if something were lodged in her throat. I was able to record it, send it to the director, and it was determined that Bella likely had kennel cough. I have a 6-year-old 60 pound American Bulldog/Boxer mix who has always been in excellent health but Bella was able to roam rather freely, on our couches, we all slept in the same room the first night, and now I'm worried that Brando may get sick. We went to the vet last night (closed Sundays) and she was given medication for the upper respiratory infection and a cough suppressant. I currently have Bella in my bedroom with the door closed and Brando has free reign of the rest of my apartment. I'm new to ISO and aside from hearing her heartbreaking whimpering, I was wondering if anyone had any tips, suggestions, etc. We washed and disinfected everything on Sunday and I plan to disinfect all surfaces again after work today. I'm washing Brando's toys (Bella wasn't interested in playing with any of them but there were out in the open for two days with her) and washing my hands incessantly. I'm also worried that she's going to get more stressed from being kept in a bedroom away from everyone else.

Any advice would be extremely helpful and appreciated!

Thank you!!!

·
Registered
35 Posts