Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 13 week old Jack puppy.
He is the cutest thing.
I started training him the day i got him at 7.5 weeks.
Things like sit and come and reinforced them with treats.
He still does sit well, but the come command has almost no effect.
He comes when he wants to. I trained him on a leash. Say come, one slight tug on the leash,
And reward him when he gets there with a treat.
I finally got him to come with no leash and no treat.
That didnt last long though.
Anyway, i have him going to an obedience class when he turns 16 weeks, and im wondering if i should continue putting training ideas in his head, or just wait until the class. I dont wanna reinforce bad habits. I was going to buy a clicker today and start doing it that way cuz i have a little experience with it.

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
but the come command has almost no effect.
He comes when he wants to.
Welcome to the world of JRTs. XD

I have no idea about the training class, because I always tought my own. I would assume you would still want to train him till the class starts.

·
Registered
4,849 Posts
I have a 13 week old Jack puppy.
He is the cutest thing.
I started training him the day i got him at 7.5 weeks.
Things like sit and come and reinforced them with treats.
He still does sit well, but the come command has almost no effect.
He comes when he wants to. I trained him on a leash. Say come, one slight tug on the leash,
And reward him when he gets there with a treat.
I finally got him to come with no leash and no treat.
That didnt last long though.
Anyway, i have him going to an obedience class when he turns 16 weeks, and im wondering if i should continue putting training ideas in his head, or just wait until the class. I dont wanna reinforce bad habits. I was going to buy a clicker today and start doing it that way cuz i have a little experience with it.